Spring Cooking With Wild Garlic

It’s that time of year again.

Crocus

The crocus and daffodils start making their appearance.

daffodils

And on my property, so does loads of wild garlic.  The Allium Vineal Variety:

044

Throughout history, the onion family was the first fresh greens that the early American settlers could enjoy, after a long cold winter.  The first bit of fresh food popping up at the earliest of spring; Tantalizing the taste buds in preparation for all the lovely produce that will surely follow in the next few months.  I can fully appreciate the excited anticipation they must have felt at the first sight of the lovely pungent plants.

Last year was the first time I harvested wild garlic to eat.  Wanting to make sure it was definitely and edible plant.  I made some lovely scallion pancakes.  I shared the recipe and offered tips on how to identify wild garlic which you can read by clicking  HERE 

Though it is technically a wild garlic, and smells as such, the bulbs taste similar to a scallion or very mild onion and the leaves taste and look like chives.  So you can replace those with the wild garlic in any of your favorite recipes.

wild garlic

When I first moved here I used to mow them down often, easy to do since it grows all over the yard, and I didn’t realize what it was.  Since, I have dedicated a few areas for the garlic to grow undisturbed, in the hopes that it would produce larger bulbs in the years to come.  This seemed to work.   The bulbs this year are quite large compared to last year.

My resident rabbit likes it too, as I found many plants with the tops chewed off :).  I don’t mind, there is plenty for us all.  We will have problems later, as she likes to get in my garden every chance she can.

This year I have enjoyed it in chili:

chili2

Just replace the wild garlic in for the onion of your favorite recipe, and use the chivy green leaves for a topping.

chili

I also used some garlic with smaller bulbs to sprinkle on top of some orange chicken with  spinach and kale rice.  As I would a scallion.

orange chicken2The raw garlic  bulbs and tops gave a nice fresh bite in contrast to the cooked greens and sweet chicken.

orange chicken

Do you harvest wild garlic or onion to use early in the season?  Or are you lucky enough to have asparagus as your first taste of the summer to come?

I am loving that I can harvest fresh produce so early in the year; When I have just planted the earliest of crops and the air is still chilly.   I will be sure to share when the lettuce, peas, radishes and broccoli rabe start making their appearance in the next few weeks.

~ by Perfect Prospect on April 8, 2013.

2 Responses to “Spring Cooking With Wild Garlic”

  1. I live in an apartment so no I cannot harvest anything wild, but I am planning on having a balcony garden and now you got me worried about the squirrels that are scampering about!

  2. I’ve searched all over my orchard hoping to find wild garlic but I haven’t found any yet.

Please leave a comment, I would love to hear from you.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 177 other followers

